Welcome to Smithfield, Maine…
Maine’s Only Leap Year Incorporated Town
— Incorporated on February 29, 1840 —
Smithfield is a small Central Maine community nestled between two ponds, 20-25 miles northwest of Augusta on Routes 137 & 8. A nice quiet place to relax, play and live. The two ponds give our residents all year round enjoyment with fishing, boating, swimming, along with bike riding around the ponds in the summer and ice fishing, skating, snowmobiling, and cross country skiing in the winter.
Our town was incorporated on February 29, 1840 making it “Maine’s only Leap Year Town.” It was made up of part of Dearborn to the south, part of Mercer to the west and East Pond Plantation to the north and east. Prior to the incorporation, this area was known as “Greeley’s Mill,” a farming and lumbering community which over the years has changed slowly to include tourism.
In the late 1800’s and early 1900’s the town boasted a hotel, store, post office, restaurant, and black smith shop. In 1895 the town’s people dedicated the new church, The Smithfield Baptist Church. In the early 1900’s there were two major fires in Smithfield which changed the center of town and many businesses did not rebuild.
In 2008 the Smithfield Elementary school closed down and our children relocated in a new school building combining Norridgewock, Smithfield and Mercer students. In February 2009 the Municipal Offices and Fire Department moved to the former Smithfield Elementary School Building and everyone is now located at 926 Village Road.
Smithfield is a part of MSAD/RSU #54. The students start out at the Mill Stream Elementary School in Norridgewock for graded K–6 and then move on to the Skowhegan Area Middle School for 7th & 8th and Skowhegan High School for 9th–12th grade. High school students may also attend the Somerset Career & Technical Center.